David Richardson live-tweets “The Scientist’s Guide to Writing”

I was pleased and amused to see David Richardson proposing (last month) to live-tweet his reading of The Scientist’s Guide to Writing.  Pleased, because it’s been a lot of fun to see what people take away from reading the book; and amused, because there’s something both fun and funny about live-tweeting a book. Three hundred pages and five years of my life, summed up in 42 tweets… what’s not to like?  🙂

If someone asked me to summarize my book in 42 tweets, I wouldn’t have known where to start.  It was fun to see which tidbits David picked out to tweet.  Some were, indeed, things I’d have picked as the core messages from their chapters:

storify_tweet20Others strike me now as just right, even though I doubt I’d have chosen them myself.  My reaction was occasionally “Gee, I wish I’d written that.  Oh, wait – I guess I did!”:

storify_tweet16And then I was pleased to see David enjoy a few of the nerdy trivia bits that (if you’re like me) can make thinking about writing fun:

storify_tweet21(And no, I’m not going to spoil the bit about noblemen and commoners either – you have to read the book for that one.)

If you haven’t read the The Scientist’s Guide to Writing, David’s live-tweeting provides a nice tasting platter.  If you have read it (thanks!), then you may enjoy seeing his reactions and comparing them to your own.  So here comes the full Storify (note: clickable version here; I can’t embed a clickable Storify in the blog).  As always, you can learn more about the book here.

Enjoy!

Storified series of tweets about The Scientist's Guide to Writing

Storify displayed by permission David C. Richardson (follow him!). Remaining, trivial, bits © Stephen Heard (sheard@unb.ca) October 20, 2016

Comment on this post:

